Cabbage Soup – taking us back to the Rivers Edge

Over ten years ago we lived in the small town of Alum Creek, West Virginia.  It was a short drive from Charleston, where I worked and likewise a short drive from The Rivers Edge Restaurant, which I believe was in Saint Albans, West Virginia.  When we tried to go visit the restaurant on a visit a few years ago, we were sad to see it had closed.  What stood out to me about about this restaurant was not the main course, but what came before.  You could expect to be served a delectable cabbage soup and hush puppies like I have never had anywhere else.   I have tried on a number of occasions to recreate their cabbage soup.  Here is what I did on my last attempt and it was close.

Ingredients

1 head cabbage

2 boxes beef broth

1 can stewed, diced tomatoes

1/8 tsp. Celery Seed

1/8 tsp. basil

1/2 tsp. onion flakes

1/8 tsp. crushed red pepper

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

Fresh ground pepper to taste

Directions

  • Cut up cabbage, save cabbage heart.
  • Place broth, cabbage & heart, spices, and tomatoes in a crock pot or you can simmer on stove top.
  • If using a crock pot cook on high for a minimum of 2 hours.  If on the stove, simmer for a minimum of 30 minutes.
  • Serve hot.
Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Cabbage Soup – taking us back to the Rivers Edge

  1. [...] week I posted a recipe for Cabbage Soup that is very close to the same soup at The Rivers Edge Restaurant in Saint Albans, West Virginia. [...]

  2. Selaniest January 9, 2012 at 12:15 pm Reply

    It is too bad you moved. I have heard you can have the original soup at the Rice Bowl in Cross Lanes WV. I heard the owners sold the recipe.

    • Cristi Kwei May 27, 2013 at 11:18 pm Reply

      The owner of the Rice Bowl purchased The River’s Edge but couldn’t keep it afloat. They DO serve the Cabbage Soup at the Rice Bowl, but it tastes nothing like the original:( I, too loved the River’s Edge and the soup. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I’m excited to try it.

  3. Vicky February 1, 2013 at 7:39 pm Reply

    I live in Alum Creek at the present and have eaten at River’s Edge Restaurant. I, liked the hush puppies too…a lot of places have closed that were good food eating places….Quiznos at Southridge, Southern Kitchen in Kanawha City, & The Corner Restaurant near Patrick Street….

  4. Michael Potter May 25, 2013 at 9:47 pm Reply

    please e-mail me pics of Rive’s Edge if you have any!

    -Michael Potter

    skfan84@msn.com

    • Kelli February 23, 2014 at 5:48 pm Reply

      I have pics

  5. Nannette May 27, 2013 at 10:15 am Reply

    Rice Bowl in Cross Lanes has the Rivers Edge Hush puppies.

  6. Marsha May 27, 2013 at 11:19 pm Reply

    Rice Bowl in Cross Lanes also has the cabbage soup!!!

  7. vince February 23, 2014 at 11:35 pm Reply

    There’s only one man who can make the cabbage soup properly…….

    • Christy February 25, 2014 at 5:19 am Reply

      and according to that man’s daughter this is NOT the recipe. Kelli Frame Blankenship on face book if you want to confirm

    • vince March 4, 2014 at 1:25 am Reply

      No,That man is me………

      • deborahahicks March 4, 2014 at 8:15 am

        Vince, the following recipe was found online – it is said it was posted in a local paper after The Rivers Edge closed. Would you like to speak to the validity of this recipe?

        1 small head of cabbage
        1 bunch of celery, chopped
        3 cloves garlic, minced
        3 yellow onions, chopped
        1 package Lipton Onion Soup Mix
        2 large cans V8 Juice + 2 cans water
        Salt and pepper to taste
        Bottled hot sauce to taste

        Cover cabbage, celery, onions, and garlic with water in soup pot on low and cook for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add dry soup mix, juice and water. Cover and cook 2 hours. Season to taste with salt, pepper and hot sauce.

  8. Disclaimer | Mom's Recipe Box February 25, 2014 at 11:14 am Reply

    […] the last week I have noticed an increased number of views to a Cabbage Soup and Hushpuppy recipe that I posted a few years ago. I appreciate the interest in the recipe, yet I […]

  9. darla February 25, 2014 at 2:52 pm Reply

    I want the recipe for the house dressing they served on the salad with blue cheese crumbles. My email is darla60@yahoo.com

  10. vince March 4, 2014 at 9:14 pm Reply

    the only things that are correct are the cabbage,celery,salt and pepper…..

    • Patrick C. Park II March 17, 2014 at 9:39 am Reply

      Vince I beg you please share the recipe I miss it so much. My family and I would travel from Elkview on special occasions to The Rivers Edge for the Soup, Hush Puppies and the Steaks.

      • Vincent Ruziska April 11, 2014 at 8:21 am

        Water,cabbage,celery,crushed tomatoes,tomato juice.salt,pepper,crushed red pepper to taste

      • Patrick C. Park II June 16, 2014 at 11:34 am

        Thank you very much Vincent, I promise you it will NEVER be as good as your’s

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

